Douglas County Libraries’ Monthly Events

DCL Logo-ed Header Click on DC Libraries Events of the Month to see DCL's all programs of the month.

Historic Douglas County, Inc. Mission:

The purpose of Historic Douglas County is to expand and enrich public awareness of Douglas County history through education and communication, and through support and coordination among local historical organizations and other related groups.


website security

Eastern Colorado Museums and Historical Societies

The Eastern Colorado Museums and Historical Societies (ECMHS) is a collection of small museums, historical societies and historical focused venues that share three commonalities: non-profit status, generally staffed by volunteers and fairly rural communities. Assembled as broad group of historical entities with mutual interests in 2010, the group meets twice a year, spring and fall, to enhance their operations knowledge by sharing their experiences as to “what works and work does not work”, discussing like problems as well as delving into potential future happenings.

Joe Martell, Elbert County Museum and Historical Society, has been the coordinator during what has been the group’s early, formative years. The ECMHS collection of like-mined folks deeply care about the local history in their specific geography. There is no board of directors or specific officers for the ECMHS …as said, just like-minded volunteers.

Below are the participating organizations and venues by county represented in ECMHS and the listings of individual volunteers who represent their respective entities at ECMHS meetings.

Cherry Creek Valley Historical Society and Melvin Schoolhouse & Museum
4950 South Laredo Street, Aurora, C) 80012
Garry O’Hara
Nita McKnight
Karen Sear
Lee & Jane Whiteley

> Cheyenne Wells Old Jail Museum and Mountain States Telephone & Telegraph Museum
85 West Second Street, Cheyenne Wells, CO 80810
Rayetta Palmer

Kit Carson Museum
200 Park Street, Kit Carson, CO 80825
Penny McPherson < a href=””>

> Castle Rock Museum & Historical Society
420 Elbert Street, Castle Rock, CO 80104
Angie DeLeo
Dorothy Kelly
Jerry Persall

Historic Douglas County, Inc.
PO Box 2032, Castle Rock, CO 80104
Ed Hooks
Mary O’Pry
Larry Schlupp
Jim Weglarz

Douglas County Repository
Castle Rock, CO 80104
Mark Howard
Norma Miller

Larkspur Historical Society
4839 Cheyenne Drive, Larkspur, CO 80118
Danna Hamling
Larry Schlupp

Parker Area Historical Society
PO Box 604, Parker, CO 80134
Website: < a href=””>
Mike Mulligan
Larry & Susan Smith

Palmer Lake Historical Society
PO Box 662, Palmer Lake, CO 80133
Roger Davis
Ron Heard

Bailey Saddleland Museum
20140 CR 125, Simla, CO 80835
Don & Janet Bailey

Elbert County Historical Society & Museum
PO Box 43, Kiowa, CO 80117
John & Lucy Hoffhines
Joe & Carla Martell
Hank & Donna Smith

Flagler Hospital Museum & Hal Borland Room
311 Main Avenue, Flagler, CO 80815
Doris King

Kit Carson County Carousel & Museum
815 15th Street, Burlington, CO 80807
Jo Downey
Norma Pankratz

Prairie Development Council
PO Box 202, Stratton, CO 80836
Jo Downey

Old Town Museum
420 South 14th Street, Burlington, CO 80807
Holly Robinson

Second Central School Museum
404 4th Street, Flagler, CO 80815
Norma Stone

Arriba Museum
711 Front Street, Arriba, CP 80804
Eunice Burge

Limon Heritage Museum & Railroad Park
PO Box 341, Limon, CO 80828
Barbara Berry

Lincoln County Historical Society
PO Box 115, Hugo, CO 80821

Lincoln County’s Hedlund House Museum
PO Box 115, Hugo, CO 80821
Terry & Dee Blevins

Non-profit and Mailing Address Info | Box 2032 | Castle Rock | Colorado 80104
IRS Non-profit certified under the 501(c)3 section of the Internal Revenue Code: EIN: 26-4211562; DLN: 17053091004039
Registered as a Non-profit Corporation in the State of Colorado: 20091055341